A password-protected directory or area is a folder which can be accessed only when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people can check out its content. This option can be used for the main folder of a given Internet site or just for a specific subfolder in accordance with the needs you have. For instance, when you are creating a new site and you don't want people to see it prior to it being 100% ready, you need to restrict the access to it entirely, and if you need only some individuals to be able to access specific files, you are able to password-protect only a certain folder, while the remainder of the website may be seen by anyone. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear when the login details the visitor enters are not correct. Even a direct link to a file will not work given that any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Cloud Hosting

Setting up a password-protected area will take merely a couple of mouse clicks and a few seconds if you host your sites within a cloud hosting account with our company. You'll not need to do anything complicated - you will have to choose a domain/subdomain, to pick which folder under it has to be protected, and then to input the login name and password that will be used to access that folder. If a number of people require their own login credentials, there will not be a problem to set up several different usernames with access to the same folder. All protected folders will appear with a padlock icon inside the File Manager section, so you will always know where this function is activated. If you would like to disable the security feature for any folder, you can disable it from the same exact section of the CP in which you have enabled it.